Skip To Content

Kurt Weill Prize – 1997

The Kurt Weill Foundation for Music, American Musicological Society, American Society for Theatre Research, and Modern Language Association are pleased announce the winner of the 1997 Kurt Weill Prize, the second to be awarded since its inception in 1995.

The Prize was awarded to Richard Taruskin’s Stravinsky and the Russian Traditions, published by the University of California Press (1996). The President of the Kurt Weill Foundation, Dr. Kim Kowalke, made the official presentation of a plaque and a cash prize of $2,500.00 at the ASCAP Deems Taylor Award ceremony on 9 December 1997 at 70 Lincoln Center Plaza. The Prize panel recognized Taruskin’s two-volume publication as an outstanding contribution to research in twentieth-century music and twentieth-century music theater.

The compact disc collection Friedrich Hollaender: Wenn ich mir was wünschen dürfte (Bear Family Records, Hambergen, Germany), edited by Viktor Rotthaler, was selected as one of two finalists for the 1997 Kurt Weill Prize for its outstanding achievement in multi-media presentation. The other finalist, Linda Hutcheon and Michael Hutcheon’s Opera: Desire, Disease, Death (University of Nebraska Press), was recognized as an innovative interdisciplinary study in music theater.

The ASCAP award ceremony was an especially fitting place to present the Prize, because the Deems Taylor Award also honors distinguished writing and research on music. Speak Low (When You Speak Love): The Letters of Kurt Weill and Lotte Lenya, edited by Dr. Kowalke and Lys Symonette (University of California Press, 1996), and Taruskin’s Stravinsky and the Russian Traditions were both winners of 1997 Deems Taylor Awards.

We don't support Internet Explorer

Please use Chrome, Safari, Firefox, or Edge to view this site.