sign up button

KWF Trustee: Ed Harsh

Ed Harsh is the founding President and CEO of New Music USA, a national organization supporting and advocating on behalf of American new music. His work to reimagine the organization following its creation in a merger led him to be honored as an "Innovator" as one of Musical America's Top 30 Professionals for 2016.

Mr. Harsh began his career as the Managing Editor of the Kurt Weill Edition and continues to serve on the Editorial Board of that publication. In the late 1990s he prepared a reconstructed edition of Weill's The Eternal Road, leading to its first production since its premiere in 1937. In 2012, he prepared an oratorio version of the work, premiered in 2013 in German under the title Die Verhei├čung and in English at Carnegie Hall as The Road of Promise.

His professional background includes twenty years of experience in the arts as program director, development officer, composer, teacher, and writer. Aside from his work with the Kurt Weill Foundation and New Music USA, his other positions have included Director of Development of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, Associate Director of David Bury & Associates, and Managing Director of Sequitur new music ensemble. As a founding member of the grassroots Common Sense Composers Collective and as an individual composer, he has completed commissioned work for many prominent ensembles, among them the Cecilia String Quartet, Albany Symphony Orchestra, the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, New Millennium Ensemble, and American Baroque. He has authored twenty published items, from essays on music to musical editions to recording reviews. His compositions are recorded commercially on the Albany, Santa Fe New Music, CRI, and Neuma labels.

Mr. Harsh holds degrees in composition and musicology, including a DMA, MMA and MM from Yale University, an MA from Columbia University, and a BM from Peabody Conservatory. He also studied at the Royal Conservatory in the Netherlands. His composition teachers included Louis Andriessen, Martin Bresnick, Jacob Druckman, and Robert Hall Lewis.