Skip To Content
Back to all works

Marie Galante

Play with music in two acts. Book and lyrics by Jacques Deval.

Work Details


Full Evening, 35 minutes music

First Performance

22 December 1934, Paris, Théâtre de Paris, H. Henriot, dir., Edmond Mahieux, cond.


Although Marie Galante is not available for performance as a stage work, its music is available in other vehicles. See Associated Works below.

Marie is kidnapped and taken to Panama by a lecherous sea captain, who abandons her when she will not give in to his desires. She becomes a prostitute in order to earn money to return to France; meanwhile, she is unwittingly involved in an espionage plot. She spends most of her money to care for a dying black man whom no one else will tend to. When she does finally save enough money for a steamer fare, she is murdered by a spy who fears discovery the night before the boat sails.

  • Les filles de Bordeaux
  • Chant des matelots
  • J'attends un navire
  • L'arreglo religioso
  • Tengo quatince años
  • Le roi d'Aquitaine
  • Train du ciel
  • Yo le dije al caporal
  • Le grand Lustucru

  • Cast

    • Singing Roles

      • Marie (soprano)
      • Mamouille (high baritone)
      • Soledad (mezzo-soprano)
      • Mercédès (mezzo-soprano)
      • Staub (baritone)
      • African-American tenor
      • Chorus
    • Non-Singing Roles

      • Josiah
      • Letuvier
      • Pastolle
      • Vigouroux
      • Crawbett
      • Tsamatsui
      • Poldine
      • Tapia
      • Gloria
      • Massoubre
      • Plauen
  • Instrumentation

    • Alto saxophone (fl, cl)
    • Alto saxophone (cl)
    • Tenor saxophone (alto sax)
    • 2 Trumpets
    • Trombone
    • Piano
    • Accordion
    • Guitar (banjo)
    • Percussion
    • 2 Violins
    • Viola
    • Bass

Piano-vocal selections
Heugel Edition 30 911

  • Chansons des quais (Songs of the Waterfront) 2017

    Cycle for soprano, male quartet, and chamber ensemble. Conceived by Kim H. Kowalke, edited by John Baxindine. Lyrics by Jacques Deval.

    Read More
  • Suite panaméenne (Panamanian Suite) 1934

    Instrumental suite from Marie galante. Tango (first movement) reconstructed by HK Gruber.

    Read More

The Works of Kurt Weill

explore the works database

The Life & Career of Kurt Weill

Explore the Timeline
0:00 / 0:00

We don't support Internet Explorer

Please use Chrome, Safari, Firefox, or Edge to view this site.