Skip To Content
Back to all works

Street Scenes

Concert sequence from Street Scene devised by Lys Symonette and Kim Kowalke for five vocal soloists, optional mixed chorus, and orchestra.

Work Details


65 minutes

First Performance

9 March 2000, New York Philharmonic, Leonard Slatkin, cond.
12 March 2000, Berlin, Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, Lawrence Foster, cond.

For information about licensing this work for use, see our online guide

  • Introduction
  • Blues ("Marble and a Star")
  • Scene and Aria ("Somehow I Never Could Believe")
  • Arioso ("Lonely House")
  • Scene and Song ("Wouldn't You Like to Be on Broadway?")
  • Cavatina and Scene ("What Good Would the Moon Be?")
  • Aria ("Let Things Be Like They Always Was")
  • Duet ("Remember that I Care")
  • Finaletto
  • Introduction
  • Trio ("There'll Be Trouble")
  • Lament ("Now Love and Death")
  • Finale ("I Loved Her, Too")

  • Instrumentation

    • Lyric soprano
    • Dramatic soprano
    • Lyric tenor
    • Broadway baritone
    • Bass-baritone
    • Optional mixed chorus
    • Flute (picc)
    • Oboe
    • 3 Clarinets (bcl)
    • Bassoon
    • 2 French horns
    • 2 Trumpets
    • 2 Trombones
    • Harp
    • Piano (celesta)
    • Timpani & percussion
    • Strings

  • Street Scene 1947

    American Opera in two acts. Book by Elmer Rice, based on his play of the same name. Lyrics by Langston Hughes and Elmer Rice.

    Read More

The Works of Kurt Weill

explore the works database

The Life & Career of Kurt Weill

Explore the Timeline
0:00 / 0:00

We don't support Internet Explorer

Please use Chrome, Safari, Firefox, or Edge to view this site.