Skip To Content

The Kurt Weill Edition


Series II, Volume 2: Music with Solo Violin (2010)

Back to all works
  • Pages

    246 pp (main volume)
    71 pp (critical report)

  • ISBN


  • Price

    $205 (subscribers)
    $375 (non-subscribers)

by Kurt Weill
Konzert für Violine und Blasorchester op. 12
Der neue Orpheus op. 16
Edited by Andreas Eichhorn


Presented here are the full scores of Weill’s Concerto for Violin and Wind Orchestra op. 12 and Der neue Orpheus op. 16, Weill’s cantata for soprano, solo violin, and orchestra on a text by Iwan Goll.

Weill composed the works in 1924 and 1925, respectively. The concerto received its world premiere in 1925 in Paris during the “Exposition internationale des Arts décoratifs et industriels modernes” (the international arts fair that gave rise to the term art deco); the cantata was first heard in 1927, when Erich Kleiber conducted it at Berlin’s Staatsoper. Although piano reductions appeared during the composer’s lifetime, he never saw the works published in full score. In 1965 Universal Edition issued a full score of the concerto, though unengraved and lacking editorial commentary.

The Kurt Weill Edition presents the two works fully engraved, with an informative introductory essay and selected facsimiles that illustrate editorial issues. A detailed critical report appears as a separate volume, which also presents a facsimile of the concerto’s originally published violin part with annotations by Stefan Frenkel, a violin virtuoso and friend of Weill’s, who championed the work in the 1920s. This instrumental part was one of several hitherto unknown sources that were unearthed during the years of work on the edition (e.g., the number of double bass players for the concerto was always a point of discussion; now it is clear that the work requires four basses). Performers and scholars alike will want to consult the volume. New orchestral materials from these authoritative texts are available for rental.

Andreas Eichhorn is a full professor of musicology at the University of Cologne, Germany. He is an expert in nineteenth- and early twentieth-century music,author of monographs on Paul Bekker and Felix Mendelssohn, among many other publications.

Associated Publications

  • Concerto Miniature score UE 35 538
  • Concerto Klavierauszug 35 046
  • Neue Orpheus Miniature score 36 506
  • Neue Orpheus Klavierauszug 35 049

We don't support Internet Explorer

Please use Chrome, Safari, Firefox, or Edge to view this site.